A Memorable Christmas Meal

Yes, you can make Christmas special with a meal. From the decor to the desserts. Ham, roast beast (as we call it..thank you Mr. Grinch), assorted veggies, macaroni and cheese, lasagna, a great assortment of cookies and many more desserts…what do you serve your family and guests?

    Christmas_Tableware_Dishes lasagna2 27681lrgChristmas_Cookies_Plateful

319989Christmas cookies

I want to wish you a very MERRY CHRISTMAS! I hope you have a wonderful time with your loved ones. Remember Jesus is the reason for the season! Visit a nativity, sing Christmas carols, send greetings to someone-let them know you care, spend as much time as you can with family-they are so important, show love, give instead of asking. My family and I have been blessed in so many ways throughout the years and this year we were finally able to give back in very small ways but still, we were able to do so. Even a little is a LOT! And who knows maybe we will get a little snow on Christmas day too (not a lot though please, I have guests coming). =)

I’ll leave you with a recipe for Mac and Cheese. http://www.thatwhichnourishes.com/tag/macaroni-and-cheese/

Thanks for posting this on Pinterest YUM!!!!!!!  I can’t wait to make it for Christmas!

My husband and oldest daughter are lactose intollerant so I will be setting aside some pasta for them and using Daiya Cheese and Earth’s Balance butter to *try and make them some. We’ll see how it comes out. =)

Boil your choice of pasta (I love cavatappi ’cause it’s just so fun) in water salted with a teaspoon of salt until al dente.

While the pasta is cooking, melt 1/2 c. (1 stick) of butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Sprinkle in 1/2 c. flour and whisk together for 2-3 minutes to let it cook.

Slowly pour in 4 cups of whole milk (don’t skimp here–in fact you can even use some cream) whisking as you go until smooth.  Add in 6 cups freshly shredded Cheddar (I use white or sharp).  You can mix your cheeses if you’d like.  Last time I made it I substituted in one cup of Gouda for one cup of the Cheddar and my husband declared it the best yet.  I’ve also added in Parmagiano/Reggiano as well.

Add in 1 T. salt and 1 T. pepper.  It’s a lot of spice, but you’ll need it.  If you’re not huge pepper fans cut that down a bit, but you need the full amount of salt for this amount of pasta.  I use Kosher or sea salt or my new favorite Real Salt.

Put the whole hot, gooey mixture into a buttered 9×13 pan.

In a small skillet, melt 2 T. butter over medium heat.  Add in 1/2 c. panko bread crumbs.  Stir constantly until golden brown.  Sprinkle over the macaroni.

Bake in a 325 degree preheated oven for 12-15 minutes.

Hot, cheesy perfection.

Themac2

THE Mac and Cheese Grocery List

1 lb. pasta

1/2 c. butter

1/2 c. flour

4 c. milk

6 c. sharp or white Cheddar

1 T. salt

1 T. pepper

2. T. butter

1/2 c. panko bread crumbs

 

Leave a comment